IT IS ALIVE, I TELL YOU!

Posted: October 24, 2012 in Details about my books
Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Yup. It is finally alive. My beautiful, slightly daft, though definitely pretty, book is alive at last! -cue the fog machine and storm effects-

I’m tempted to start jumping up and down, but as I completed it hours ago, I don’t think that’d be really appropriate.

Oh, yeah. I know what you’re thinking. Why am I just informing you awesome imaginary, slightly schizophrenic, readers now? Well, I’ll tell you why! Because I was busy watching Tv with my sis who is ill with something I don’t care to name because I’m really inconsiderate.

But you already know that, don’t you? Hell, I don’t even remember your names… And there are only TWO of you!

 

Back to the point. I have COMPLETED my book at a spectacular 112,013 word count. That, my dear friends, amounts to 223 pages divided into Three Parts. This is a spectacular achievement for me, as it should be for ANY writer; no matter how experienced they become. After all, it is simply a humbling experience to just COMPLETE something you sweltered (not really) for, something you bled for (yikes, no), something you cried for (Can’t risk losing face), and something you loved. (Not… Nah, just kidding. Really do love the bastard.)

Now, a lot of you are probably wondering what the next step is right now. (Probably not. ) And I am gracious enough to give you an answer. The next step would be lots and lots of editing. Yup. That means reading the entire thing until I’m sick of all of the characters, until I’m reciting every single page from memory (well, maybe not EVERY page), and until it is PERFECT grammatically and… Spellingly wise. (Quite the wordsmith, are we?)

And then I’m going to send the first five pages to the Donald Maass Literary Agency. Hopefully, they’ll like it enough to ask for a few more chapters, and then hopefully they’ll like those enough that they’ll ask for the entire book. Then, if they like the entire book (enough), then they’ll pick me up as a client! Some of you imaginary readers may know of it (you should since you’re part of my subconscious… Or whatever.), but I’ll enlighten you new fellows. The agency, I mean. Donald Maass is the agent of the LEGENDARY Brent Weeks, one of my favorite authors. They also have a lot of ties with epic fantasy and Orbit Books, a great fantasy imprint, if there ever was one. Their clients include the likes of Brandon Sanderson, after all!

So. I have a lot of work to do.

I’ve also started working on a NEW project. Yup. No, not the sequel. You see, I want to take a break from the Unsung for a bit. It gets tiresome to write about it nonstop, after all. So now I’m working on this idea I had back when I was only at a mere 100 pages for the Line of Corruption, and it’ll be very short in comparison. A breezy 60k or so. For now, it is named Death has a job, but its name is subject to change.

Anyways. This was an exciting day for yours truly. Oh, and have I mentioned that I wrote another 2.2k yesterday after my post? Yup.

And did I tell you I wrote another 4k just this morning?

I didn’t? Well, tallying it all up, I’ve probably written around 6-8 thousand words in the past 4-5 days. You see, I was really determined to finish my book before November 7 so I can say that I have completed not one, but TWO books by the age of 14.

Oh, my first book was this epic fantasy book that was really horrible, truly. No structure, terrible plot. Ugh, hated the characters. It was about 60k words long, which amounts roughly to 161 pages. The font size was huge so it would soothe my ego to see I’d gotten to page 161. Ah, to be young again… is to relive my worst nightmare.

Fortunately, I have moved on from adolescence. (Well, dude, it was about two years ago.)

Shut up.

But yeah, I’m no longer petty or childish. I no longer write blog posts for imaginary readers, either… Now I just write them so I can re-read them and laugh. (Yes, I am that egotistical.)

Well, hasta luego, people!

Leave a Reply

