Editing is embarrassing

Posted: October 27, 2012 in Uncategorized
Tags: , , , , , , , ,

Well, for me it is. I don’t know about you guys, but it’s terribly embarrassing for me. Now, I know what you’re thinking… You’re thinking I have a very good singing voice. And you’re thinking, “Why should you be embarrassed? It’s natural for you to have mistakes here and there.”

Oh, it is, but the problem I have with going back to the beginning is because I could have done it all so much better had I known then what I know now. It’s the oldest story in the oldest book, really. As all of you know, a writer improves, basically, with every page. Whether insignificantly or significantly, they improve with every comma they place, with every period they put, and with every exclamation point they type! I started this about… A year ago. It was around September, I believe. Looking back on it now, I could have done everything so much better. The dialogue, the characters, and even the fight scenes could have been made one of the BEST of all of my works.

That is why I am always embarrassed to read my past works. Yes, we learn from our mistakes, but what if you’ve already learned it? Then it simply becomes a mistake that you can’t learn from, and you have to blush and all as you correct it and sweep it underneath a rug! The prose could have been improved exponentially with a few tweaks in my writing style, but in order to make it the best of the best, I would have to rewrite about 75 pages. Not an option. The only thing I can do is remove the unnecessary dialogue, and paragraphs that did nothing to the story.

Now, I love my book. Oh, and it isn’t true that every writer loves their book. Stephen King mentioned in his autobiography On Writing that he hated his first book, Carrie. He just didn’t like the story or the characters. Yet that is how he first got about… Twenty thousand dollars, was it? In his time, that was A LOT. Of course, nowadays he’s a millionaire (I think), but that is still a lot.

Point is. I love my book. But re-reading it from the beginning is one of the most embarrassing things I can do. I don’t laugh at the simplicity of the writing, I simply roll my eyes at my stupid mistakes. But I think it’s important for every writer to see their worst mistakes, and get so damned embarrassed from them that they never make the same mistake again. Because if they do, it’ll be much more embarrassing.

Editing is incredibly embarrassing, and while you sometimes don’t learn from your mistakes, you sure as Hell can avoid doing ’em in the future because of your embarrassment.

Now, I wanna give a thanks to all the people that started following my blog. Guess a lot of you really hated that post and hated my incessant blogging.

I’ll try to keep you all entertained without becoming a clown, but let’s face it, halfway there already. So, I bid you adieu!

Leave a Reply

