Actually, I’m not going to talk about why I like them. Well, I won’t ramble on about it. But I’m going to talk (or write, depending on how you look at it) about which is better: television shows or movies?

Hm. It can be argued that shows are superior because shows require a gripping storyline or dialogue or a great cast of characters to keep people tuning in every week for a new episode. But, it can also be argued that movies are superior because they have to cram in an inordinate amount of character development/introduction within a limited time period (movies are preferably shorter than three hours, y’see) and have to set up a lot of plot threads as well.

So how can you figure out which is better? No idea. If I knew that… I’d still be writing this. I mean. I like movies because I get to watch a movie with a one million dollar budget and then watch a movie with a 250 million dollar budget and go, “I liked the first one more.”

For example. I watched Step Up Revolution today. Part of it, at least. Couldn’t get through the movie. Story was awful, characters were awful, dialogue was awful, but the dancing was superb. Its budget was 33 million dollars and it grossed 140 million dollars from the Box Office.

That’s a lot of money, isn’t it? I think the movie’s a success, then! But then compare it to Pulp Fiction… Oh, wait. Hold on. I’m not saying we compare the plots. No. They’re completely different. It would be unfair. But let’s compare the budget, shall we? Pulp Fiction had an 8.5 million dollar budget and it grossed 213.9 million dollars from the Box Office. That’s not counting the amount of DvD’s it has sold. Or the fact that the script converted to a book was one of the Top 10 Bestsellers in the UK Publishing History. 

So. I like movies for the simple fact that they cost money, but the quality is just as important as if it were a book. I mean. I could make a book by myself. It would take a year and a half and it would leave me a zombie for a few weeks, but I could do it. For free, too. That is, unless I do research that requires a very fat wallet. 

Movies, I am told, takes money. I could technically make a movie right now, but I have no actors, no production crew, or anything. I only have a writer and a director and a faulty video camera.

And I’m the writer and director, by the way.

And the writer is an incompetent fool. 

So, movies take a lot of effort. They require a script (which is sort of easier than a book, but it’s still writing), it requires actors (Preposterous, I know), and it requires a load of other things. That’s what makes it interesting to me. 

You put all these things together for two hours of viewing pleasure, and it may or may not work out. It’s technically a gamble. 

 

So, if you make movies… It most likely means you have a lot of guts. Can’t be denied. Anyways, I watched four movies today. I watched In Bruges. Great movie. I watched Step Up Revolution, but like I said, couldn’t get through with it. Dancing was great, though. I watched People Like Us. Great movie. Chris Pine and Elizabeth Banks are great actors. 

What’s the fourth movie you ask? No idea. Maybe I’ll tell you tomorrow after I watch it. That’s nonlinear storytelling right there. I know. I’m utterly brilliant. Or utterly stupid.

Either way, you’re still reading this. What does that make you? Hm? 

Anyways. I was really happy to see the Likes of my last post. Wonder how I got so many. But I hope I get a few more Likes on this one. Sayonara!

 

~J.A. Romano

Comments
  1. C.Hill says:

    Have you seen the new Les Miserables, the musical one? I learned today that it’s only two hours long compared to the three hour one with Liam Neeson in it. I wonder if it will compare, cause, well, Liam Neeson is amazing.

    • J.A. Romano says:

      I’m actually planning on watching it. I saw the 25th Anniversary of Les Miserables ( On youtube, of course) and the singing was amazing. But, all due respect to Jackman and Hathaway, they weren’t trained to sing while simultaneously acting. At least, not to the degree that those in the original play were. All the singing was done live, so the vocals – I hear – aren’t as good as they could have been.

      Samantha Barks – who’s in Les Miserables – plays the same part in that concert. Great singer.

      The woman who plays Fantine ( in the concert ) is actually from the Philippines ( my home country) , and she has an amazing voice.

      Also, I’m a great fan of Liam Neeson – so I’ll probably end up watching that one,as well.

Leave a Reply

