Rejection. You know the story.

Posted: February 14, 2013 in Details about my books
Tags: , , ,

Weeeell. Yours Truly was rejected by the agency he applied to. Yes, I know. You’re all extremely sad for me, and I feel sad for all of you.

(Wait, that doesn’t make sense…)

But let’s move on. Yeah. I mean. Rejection, we all know the story. (See what I did there?) It’s really tiresome to think about it, and let’s face it, the excerpt I sent to the literary agency wasn’t perfect. It was great ( in my eyes ) but to each his own. There were loads of reasons why the agent didn’t take it. Probably… Hopefully.

But that’s that. I think the most annoying thing about this is I have to find another literary agency that’s just as good to apply to.

-drops to knees-

I WILL NOT SPEND ANOTHER HOUR SIFTING THROUGH A WEBSITE FOR ANOTHER ONE. NOOOOO!

Which is why I’ll outsource it to India. Oh, just kidding. I have an Indian friend. That makes it all right. But I really do. So. When horrible things happen in my life, do you want to know what I do? Well, I tell my family about it (if they don’t already know), I thank them for their support, turn on the Beatles, and write a few more chapters in one of my stories.

That’s the thing. Being rejected has given me lots of inspiration. Is it rage-fuelled? Maybe. Is it most likely going to be incoherent, and will basically be me going, “KILL ALL AGENTS.”

I won’t lie. That is a possibility. But, in the wake of such DEVASTATING TRAGEDY THE LIKES OF WHICH THE WORLD HAS NEVER SEEN, I think it’s good that I can at least be able to write a few more chapters after this horrible writer’s block I’ve been experiencing.

And if you don’t know the story of Rejection… I mean, seriously. You’re just kicking a man when he’s already down. What’s wrong with you?

Shame on you.

Goodbye!

PS: It occurs to me that I’m so much more funnier in a voice conversation. Take my word for it. If I was saying this out loud, you would be laughing. That is to say, if you’re not laughing right now. If you are, good for you. If you aren’t, there’s your reason.

~J.A. Romano

Comments
  1. tktrian says:

    Oh don’t we know the story… but looking back, it’s clear WHY we were rejected. Our works just require so much MORE work, there’s no way around it. And the beginnings have been crappy, not catching enough, not confict-y enough. But it’s great rejection can fuel creativity though! Good luck with your future endeavors to the agent land 🙂

    • J.A. Romano says:

      Thanks! I’m already looking for new agencies to apply to, and I managed to write one thousand words after getting the rejection. : )

      I still have a long ways to go in the editing department, though. But, it’s getting there. 😀

      Thanks for commenting.

  2. C.Hill says:

    Sorry to hear about it. Now all you have to do is create a character of the publisher and kill them off. In a nice way that doesn’t come to bite you back of course.

    Have you tried getting an agent? I don’t know how hard it would be, considering my uncle in an author and would have connections for me. That might help in the long run.

    • J.A. Romano says:

      Well. I applied to an agent, not a publisher. But I’m going to apply to a different one, so I’m currently sifting through some agent profiles. Oh, your Uncle’s an author? Anything I might’ve read by his?

      Thanks for the suggestion. I was thinking of the utilization of anagrams for this character. xD

      By the way. Feel free to hit me up with an email when you’re done editing what you have of your book so far. I’m clearing up some time to read all of the stuff my beta readers have written. (And finally fulfill my commitments!)

      Thanks for commenting.

      • C.Hill says:

        I doubt you’ve read anything by my uncle. He’s a Christian author with three books out. Edward R Murphy. Not well known. Small press.

        And I need to finish this last chapter and go over some edits before I send it to you. I need to clear up some time for your book as well. Have like four books already to read. It’s crazy.

        Hope everything goes well.

  3. […] But, because of my little experience in other occupations, I’m talking about life for a writer. Awhile ago, I submitted to a literary agent. In fact, I talked a little about rejection/failure in this post.  […]

Leave a Reply

