Ah, been waiting to make an Avengers pun. Wait, is it a pun?

Huh, I’m gonna go brush up on my History of Puns.

So, I was thinking about my favorite authors the other day. Brandon Sanderson, Brent Weeks, and GRRM are all huge now. Yes, those are my idols. But, then I thought about their origins. Brent Weeks managed to completely write and edit the Night Angel Trilogy before he found his agent at a convention. (I actually applied to his agent, but got rejected.) Brandon Sanderson actually wrote Mistborn and the Way of Kings (arguably his greatest books) before he finally got published with Elantris. And GRRM’s ASoIaF series was camouflaged in obscurity for years. I know a few that read it when it first came out, but these people were HARDCORE fantasy fans.

Non-hardcore fantasy fans never heard of it in the 90’s. So, I started thinking, “What makes a writer?”

Agh, so pretentious, I know! But, it’s an interesting question. Like superheroes, our origin stories can be boring or ridiculous or awesome. (Superman’s origin story vs. Deadpool’s origin story. War veteran with cancer tested on by a secret Black Ops group beats alien from a dead planet.)

Yet, even if our origin stories aren’t all that, our time as writers can be vastly different. For example, we could have an origin story of being taught by someone awesome like Brandon Sanderson, but we could be horrible writers. (Unlikely, but possible.)

My origin story (I love saying origin story, makes me feel like a super villain) involves watching an anime series, and getting bored after watching every single episode. So, I tried to find a game based on that show, and ended up stumbling on an RP site. RP sites, you see, are basically text based MMORPGS. You just write everything your character does. That’s how I learned. I quit a year ago. I met a lot of cool people, but at the end of the day, it was just another avenue of procrastination. Plus, the community had really gone down the drain.

What’s your origin story? Mine was very unique (yup) because I hated reading. I actually hated reading up until two years ago. So, the fact that I got into writing in the first place when I despised the very notion of cracking open a book? That’s awesome. It became a driving force behind my actions. I knew what I was going to do. I was going to be a writer. I was 11 at the time, though, so it’s not like the deadline of choosing a career path was breathing down my shoulder… But yeah. I wanted to be a writer, and it motivated me to do more things.

Comment below if you’ve got an interesting (OR HORRIBLE, JK) origin story. I really am interested to know how other people started to write. I want to know if I’m the only one with such a retarded origin story. I knew a guy that learned how to write from chatting. It was really strange.

But yeah. Please comment.

~J.A. Romano

Comments
  1. Alex says:

    Weirdly, though I had written a few scripts (or started a few, anyway) I’d never thought of writing stories. I was at work about 4am, monitoring a sleeping person, when I wrote an extremely silly and random story about a robot hunting a cabbage. I spoke to other workers and got them to give me a word, be it a name or a fruit or a disease, anything. I then sent it around the shift and people though it was really funny, and I was hooked! I’ve been writing ever since.

  2. tipsypeaches says:

    I actually couldn’t read not write until I was 8 years old, and then struggled with severe dyslexia until I found a way to manage it when I was about 12. Since then I’ve read almost anything I can get my hands on.

    My writing is a way of getting my head straight, exploring issues that are important to me, and just full on expressing myself. I enjoy most things creative, and this is just one that is easy to share with others.

  3. tktrian says:

    Nice post, J! Haven’t heard an origin story similar to yours before! We (T+K) used to write separately, but never seemed to finish what we started. A few years ago K was like “me and my BFF used to write fantasy stories together. That was fun! Wanna write together?” and T was like “hmm… well, I always gripe about this and that about the novels I read… so why not write one yourself?”, And at a time we were both unemployed so writing was also an escape thingy to us. So we started working together on our first ms “Blood Calling.” The rest is, as they say…

Leave a Reply

