Writing as an Art? – Guest Post series

Posted: May 2, 2013 in Details about my books, Writing Stuff
Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

Recently, I stumbled upon a post about writing being art. Sorry I can’t link it to you, but I cannot seem to find it in my search history. Anyways, I want to talk about what I think of writing. I’ve never actually thought of writing as an art. In a lot of ways, I saw writing as something that can be as formulaic as being a contractor. Am I saying that writers and contractors have the same job? Of course not, but that doesn’t mean writers don’t have to jump through some hoops, too.

When it comes to writing, I rely on my gut. I’ve written maybe four posts this week, but I’ve only saved them as drafts. Why? Because I didn’t feel right about them. So, obviously, I don’t think writing is very technical, and a lot of it depends on the writer and him/her alone. To explain to you why I never really thought of writing as an art, I’ll explain to you my regular definition of art.

The first things that pop up on my mind are: Mona Lisa. The Thinker. The Scream.

You know, the normal stuff. Paintings, statues – but I’ve read a lot of posts calling writing one of the highest art forms. I already know that creative writing, in certain (if not all colleges) is part of the Arts program. Or whatever that’s called. But, for some reason, it just never occurred to me that what I was doing was art.

I write. That’s what I call what I do. I may edit, from time to time. I may plot. An artist, though? I guess I’ve always been a bit hesitant to call myself an artist, but I am very curious to hear what other people think. What do other people think writing is? Is it art, or is it completely technical?

A fun example of this, which will flatter people in the former and the latter, is the book-length interview between Francois Truffaut and Alfred Hitchcock. Truffaut basically analyzed, from what I read, the artistic parts of Hitchcock’s films, and sought out the subtext. Hitchcock (again, from what I read) made it all seem technical and… effortless, I guess. So, if you think of yourself as an artist, then you’re in the same category as one of the most critically acclaimed French critics/directors ever. If you belong in the latter, like me, then… well, you get to say you’re in the same category as the guy who made Rear Window!

It’s a bit of a stretch, but that’s the closest example I can think of. For the next few weeks or even months, I’ll be asking people to do guest posts where they talk about which category they belong to. Do they consider themselves an artist, or are they a techie? (I wish I was a real techie. I can barely use my computer!)

If you’re interested, email me : hunter.nobody@gmail.com

Or comment below that you’re interested and provide an email address.

You can also contact me via Twitter: @Jilliano_Romano

Facebook is also an option: https://www.facebook.com/TheUnsung?fref=ts

 

Thanks a lot for reading, and hope you hit me up with an email for a guest post!

I’d really appreciate it if you Liked, Commented, and Followed. Hopefully all three.

~J.A. Romano

Comments
  1. Erica Dakin says:

    I’ve never really thought about it to be honest… I suppose I’d call it art, since I can’t call it anything else. Also, the good thing about writing as art is that it’s a lot easier to distinguish the good stuff. Someone can chuck a pot of paint at a canvas and call it art, but you can’t just write ‘bicycle pot boil flibberty doogaggle’ and expect people to go mental about how awesome it is.
    (You can probably guess I’m not a fan of modern art.)
    Anyway, I’d be interested in guest posting, if you’ll have me. pluisje at ratauvan.co.uk

  2. MishaBurnett says:

    I wrote a post about writing as art just the other day, was this it?

    http://mishaburnett.wordpress.com/2013/05/03/but-is-it-art/

    • J.A. Romano says:

      Oh, no. But I actually did read your post after writing this call to guest posts. Definitely agree on what you mean about art being entertainment. Sad that I couldn’t get you to write it as a guest post for me before, though. xD

Leave a Reply

