Image

Hannibal is the type of show where people already kind of know what to expect from the name alone. They would be wrong, though. At least, I was proven wrong. I came in expecting a story about Hannibal Lecter. Sure, the summary kind of said otherwise, but the name leaned into my expectations. However, Hannibal is about a genius FBI agent who can empathize with serial killers as easily as we… well, scorn serial killers.

Obviously, there are some pretty nasty side effects from his unique ability to understand the ‘design’ of the serial killers. He’s haunted every night by dreams of the serial killer’s victims, and he also cannot handle human interaction very well.

Now that we have that out of the way, I’m going to break one of the Reviewer’s Rules of Thumb , and start it off by saying that I like this show.(Think there’s a rule where you first have to list the reasons before saying you love/hate it.) I’ve stopped watching as many shows as I used to because they ceased being interesting. This show, however, keeps things interesting.

It is, at its core, a game of cat and mouse, but it also shows the very thin line between a hero and a villain. At least, that’s the way I see it. The way Hannibal Lecter first meets Will, the main character, as portrayed awesomely by Hugh Dancy, is very interesting. I will try not to spoil anything for you, but Mads Mikkelsen takes on the difficult task of standing in Sir Anthony Hopkins’ shoes head on. He brings a rather different Hannibal than is shown on Silence of the Lambs. He’s quiet, introspective, but you can sense there’s a storm underneath the surface. Three episodes in, I have yet to see Hannibal really “loosen” up, and that is one of the many factors that keep me coming back.

I’m not really doing the show justice by describing to you the plot, though. It’s the type of show where you need to watch it to judge for yourself. All I can do is tell you what I like about it. And we all know how much I like to gush about things I love.

I’ll keep it to a short list.

1. The characterization. Every character feels fully fleshed out, and the dialogue between each character is very good. I haven’t seen dialogue like this in a Tv show since House of Cards’ season ended.

2. The atmosphere. Okay. I like mysteries, especially murder mysteries. I love shows like Castle, and my favorite movie of all time is Zodiac. That should tell you how much I like murder mysteries. The atmosphere of mystery and macabre murders portrayed in this show is just fantastic. In scenes of suspense, I wanted to skip the scene and find out who survives. In scenes of fear, I wanted to look away from the screen. And in scenes depicting murder… well, I couldn’t look away from the screen. It’s a very good show that way.

3. Plot. Yeah. It’s good. I can’t really say anything more than that. It’s good, I like it, and it keeps me at suspense. I want to both thank and strangle the writers. Trust me, that is a compliment.

What didn’t I like about it, you ask? Wait, you didn’t ask? Well, I’m still gonna give you my list.

1. Oh, the scenes of murder I was talking about? I was serious when I said I could not look away, but they’re rather excessive on the blood. I don’t normally have a problem with that, but with the combination of their awesome characterization, amazing atmosphere.. It can be very disturbing. As such, I sometimes just go: “Oh, c’mon. I’m about to go to sleep!” or “I’m eating my cereal!” The show is good enough without the excessive use of blood, if you ask me. I’m okay with blood, and this problem was only really an issue in the first episode… But yeah, that’s just a small nitpick for you.

2. Uh…. Can’t think of anything.

Yup. That is how much I like this show. Perhaps, I can add that it’s not really funny… but really, if I wanted funny, I would not be watching the prequel to Silence of the Lambs. So, I have to say, I was very much impressed by this show.

I would recommend it to anyone that likes the Following, or murder mysteries. I would suggest that you go in expecting to see some creepy stuff. Go in expecting a full blown horror movie, and you won’t be shocked at all. Unless you want to be shocked. In which case, I congratulation you on your bravado.

I’m a fraidy cat, and I can’t really handle stuff like that. I watched the Shining a few days ago before going to sleep. Ha! I know! Well, I’ll tell you about THAT experience later.

All in all, this is a spectacular Tv show. If this is cancelled, I will be very disappointed by NBC. First, they cancel Smash… if they cancel this, too, I’d probably lose faith in their executives.

I’m going to try to pick an adequate number for this show, and that number is… (drum roll)

8.9/10

There are only two shows that have a 9/10, for me, and those two shows are….

… something I will tell you in my reviews of them. Yup, I am devious like that. Anyways, I do hope you give this show a try. I really hope you do.

Please remember to Like, Follow, and Comment. Hopefully all three. And… Thanks. A lot.

~J.A. Romano

Comments
  1. Erica Dakin says:

    Castle! I adore Castle! Haven’t seen Hannibal yet, probably won’t either but that’s more because I watch very little TV at all, but god I adore Castle…

Leave a Reply

