More Thoughts On Kindle Worlds

Posted: May 25, 2013 in Uncategorized

Some great thoughts here on the Kindle Worlds business. Considering my humble beginnings as a fanfiction writer, I’m looking forward to seeing what kind of stuff people might write. You can read some of my thoughts in the comments section of Mr. Burnett’s post.

mishaburnett

I know I should be writing about James and his undead friend escaping an exploding haunted dollar store, and I’ll get back to that in a minute, but I was browsing the #KindleWorlds hashtag on Twitter, and I’m finding some thought provoking material.  There’s a lot of crosstalk and chatter, and I’m seeing people reacting to having their preconceptions challenged, which is always interesting.  Initial responses seem to fit into several broad categories.

  • “Fanfic is pathetic and charging money for it is stupid.”  It’s usually not stated quite so baldly, but the attitude is there.  I have no doubt that there are bad examples of fan fiction, but, you know, there is also bad landscape photography and bad folk music and bad Mexican food, which does not imply that no good examples of those arts exist.  Condemning works a priori because of the subject matter or origin is sloppy thinking.
  • “If…

View original post 472 more words

Leave a Reply

