Waiting for the Like

Posted: June 28, 2013 in Uncategorized, Writing Stuff
Tags: , , , , , , , ,

Okay. If you’ve been blogging for at least a week, I think you know what I mean. Writing relies on people being interested in the characters you create, but blogging relies on people being interested in what you say. So, after an entire year ( I think ) of blogging, you’d think I’d have learned a way to not worry or obsess over Likes. I mean, Likes aren’t that important, right?

That’s kind of true, but I can’t help but wait for someone to Like my posts, sometimes. A single Like makes a huge difference. This isn’t my attempt at telling everyone to Like my posts, but it’s worth writing about the insecurities that I am sure every blogger – at one point – has felt. I’m now going to list all of the things I’ve tried to avoid obsessing over the Like.

So, a friend of mine told me awhile back that the trick is not to care. And you know, I actually like that concept. But, I think caring is what makes me strive to make better posts. I could just write blogposts for myself, but do you really want to read my rants about books and movies I don’t like? You do? Well, I doubt you’d like to read about it every day.

And caring about the posts that I write is what prevents me from posting everything I write that’s less than insightful. I have technically written 100 posts, counting this. But I haven’t published the dozen drafts I have saved because I don’t think they’re good enough. So, not caring about what you do? While it’s a good concept, it’s not really great in execution.

The second thing I tried was just tell my friends to check the post out, and since we normally have the same opinions, they’d normally Like it. However, this isn’t ideal because most of them don’t actually blog. They occasionally post, but they don’t really care for it.

So, I always felt guilty asking them to check out my newest post. I still do that, but I’m much more casual about it, now. I only bring it up if it relates to the conversation. Like, when my friend was having trouble writing. I just told him I wrote a little post about it ages ago, and pass him the link. Then I just give him the shortened version of it.

The third thing you could do is to write depending on what people want to know. This could actually work, but if you always just write about popular culture like Kim Kardashian’s new baby, or Channing Tatum directing Magic Mike 2, I don’t think you’ll have that much fun at all. Unless that is what you actually want to do.

I, personally, like writing about my experiences as a writer, and I occasionally review movies and books. I get an average four Likes on my posts about writing (if it’s a good day), and maybe one to two Likes (at most) on my reviews. This doesn’t mean that people like posts about writing more, and hate reviews. I just think that there are a lot of other more popular reviewers out there, and my reviews are generally about movies that are no longer in theatres. And people have the Nostalgia Critic for stuff like that.

Yet, I just started a new series called Classic Thursdays where I take movies deemed as classics and see if they hold up to my eyes. I write it partially for me, and partially because I just think that blindly liking movies because they’re called classics is rather weird. Also, because I think my generation really should watch some unknown classics more.

The final option is to just quit blogging. No point in fussing over something if only two people pay attention, right?

Well, if everyone listened to that, schools would be in real disrepair. So, I won’t quit blogging because I haven’t earned my popularity, yet, as much as a lot of other, better bloggers. But I will continue to write about my experiences as a writer, and if anyone is interested, they can read it and enjoy reading about my mishaps.

This has been a short post, but I’ve just been thinking about this for a long time, and that’s really all the advice I can offer. It’s not much, but it’s something. Hope you’ve enjoyed the post!

~Jian

Comments
  1. tktrian says:

    The “problem” with us is that none of our family members care enough to check or like our posts, some of them can’t even speak English xP it’d be nice if they helped with upping the popularity of our blog, but then again, there isn’t that much interesting stuff going on there xD

    We will post a recount of our weekend at a medieval fair soon, though. It was fun, especially from the story-writing POV, so there’ll be pics! Of horses! (and some other less interesting stuff, lol)

    • J.A. Romano says:

      Yeah, I’m really lucky my family supports me a lot in my writings.

      I’m looking forward to your post about the medieval fair. It’s been awhile since I’ve been to one, and I was only able to spend an hour looking at all the shiny cool things last time. Sounds like you two had a blast, so I’ll keep an eye out for the post. : )

  2. I get how you feel, sir. I spend probably too much time looking at my hit statistics, wondering what I could do better. I wish I could say sincerely that blogging has become less about people seeing my stuff and more about just the persistence of producing it, but I do love to see the likes, the hits, etc… It’s one of those weirdly-fulfilling nonsense-things, and it can really drive you forward or drag you down.

    I go forward by writing about what I want to, no matter the hits/likes. If they come, fantastic. If they don’t, I still produced something useful to myself, or put into words something that was just rattling around in my head before.

    • J.A. Romano says:

      It used to drive me crazy, and I would try to analyze a way to get more Likes. After awhile, I realized I should just stop worrying about it, and continue to write blogposts on what I want. I tried writing a post that was designed to get Likes (deleted it, I think), but it showed in my writing that I didn’t really want to write about it.

      So, I’ve decided to just keep doing what I do and hope for the best, which is what I used to do back when I first started out. I really wish the days when I didn’t care about that sort of thing, but I think it’s good that I’m aware of these things now. It motivates me to do the best I can, which is always good for a writer. 😛

Leave a Reply

